August 21st, 2005, The Rose Garden Function Centre, Parnell

The Education conference was well attended by members, who seemed intent on listening to Hon. Phil Goff & Hon. Chris Carter who spoke on educational issues. See below for pictures of this event.

Key Online Education Sources:

Members who are interested in educational material can visit the sites below. They are an excellent source for finding out about the NZ curriculum.

Te Kete Ipurangi (TKI) - The Online Learning Centre
Developed by the NZ Ministry of Education, this website provides quality assured educational material for NZ Education Managers, teachers, parents, students and the wider community.

Te Tomokanga - Edcentre
EdCentre is the online gateway to information about New Zealand education. It provides access to educational services and advice for organizations and people at all stages of their lives.

Te Ara NZ Encyclopedia
In Maori, Te Ara means 'the pathway'. Through interlinking text and image trails, the Encyclopedia takes you on a journey of discovery. Beginning with the theme of New Zealanders, it will eventually present a comprehensive guide to New Zealand - its natural environment, history, culture, economics and government.

Askquestions - Online Librarian
Online librarian that can link students with the right resources to help them find the answers they need for their school work. Three librarians will be online and ready to help you every week day throughout the school year (February to December) - even during the holidays!
Hours: Monday to Friday: 1pm - 6pm

Te Poe Taki Koreo - Learning Media
Learning Media is a leading developer of print and digital educational materials for New Zealander students, their parents and teachers.

Learning Objects
The Learning Federation (TLF) is an exciting and innovative project that employs emerging technologies to produce world class online curriculum content to encourage student learning and support teachers in Australian and New Zealand schools. TLF is an initiative of the state, territory and federal governments of Australia and New Zealand.